Latvian Qualifications Framework (LQF)

European Qualifications Framework (EQF)

European Qualifications Framework (EQF) is an overarching eight-level European reference system. The EQF levels are not related to any specific qualifications or education programmes, but they indicate the extent, to which a learner has acquired relevant knowledge, skills and competences during their learning.

It is unimportant how the particular level has been achieved, i.e. whether the learner has participated in a formal or informal/non-formal learning, in vocational or general education programme, as the emphasis is placed on learning outcomes. Learning outcomes are applied to describe the EQF levels because the comparison and explanation of qualifications awarded in various national education systems on the basis of educational process features, e.g. duration, would be inappropriate, since the national education systems and their contexts are quite different.

Read more here

Latvian Qualifications Framework (LQF)

The new Latvian Qualifications Framework, similarly to the EQF, consists of eight reference levels and imparts all stages and types of education. These level descriptors are included in the Cabinet of Ministers Regulations and are based on learning outcomes that are expressed in three dimensions:

1. Knowledge (knowledge and comprehension);
2. Skills (ability to apply knowledge, communication, general skills);
3. Competence (analysis, synthesis and assessment).

Latvian Qualifications Framework Descriptors for Higher Education

 Higher Education in Latvian Qualifications Framework

Read more about EQF and LQF on